Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Elbow Park

Elbow Park

On Monday of the Family Day long weekend, I took the opportunity to play with the panorama feature on my Blackberry.

I know that many of you in eastern Canada and parts of the US have been in somewhat of a deep freeze, so I thought I would share the pictures I took here in Calgary, Alberta this past Monday to warm you up a bit.

I needed to pick up some groceries so I walked the long way, via Elbow Park, to the Safeway grocery store so I could snap some panoramic photos. The photo above was taken at 30th Ave and Elbow Drive SW. There’s quite a bit of ice there so I took tentative steps after shooting that picture down the bank to the path along the Elbow River.

Elbow Park

Elbow Park

In the summer I come to the above spot often. It’s my thinking spot. I like to sit on the bench, not quite visible in the center of this photo and listen to the river while I ponder life and whatever is going on at the time. Just out of sight to the left is a small playground with swings, slide and sandbox type toys.

Elbow Drive

Elbow Drive

Here, I’ve exited the park onto Elbow drive and am heading east to Safeway.

Disappearing cop car

Disappearing cop car

There’s Safeway, but my favourite part of this picture is the disappearing cop car! Who hasn’t wished for that to happen at some point in their life? When I posted this on my Facebook page, people said things like: great cloaking technology or called it a ghost car.

I have to say I really love the panoramic feature on my phone and I cannot wait to try it out it again the next time I head to the mountains. Below is a picture of my favourite residential building in Calgary – The Anderson Apartments located just down the street from where I live.

Anderson Towers

Anderson Towers

~ HUMP DAY CHRONICLES ~

How’s the weather treating you where you’re at? Do you have a panoramic feature on your phone?

