Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

The best way to cheer yourself up is to try to cheer somebody else up. ~ Mark Twain

untitledI have a friend named Chuck who is a street chaplain in Vernon, British Columbia.

He uses the ‘poke’ feature on Facebook to tell those he pokes that he’s praying for them.

On November 25th Chuck’s status update read:

Pray that the Lord would place a person in your life today that you can encourage.

I took it to heart and headed for my temporary part-time job at the mall where I, along with other passionate people, have been working to secure sponsorships for 125 children who live in some of the poorest countries in the world.

While I was there, the mall’s cleaning lady walked by and was sweeping the floor.

A demure woman in her 60s, who is there every day quietly doing her job.

So unassuming, she almost blends into the background; does anyone ever notice her?

I thanked her for keeping the mall clean. She looked at me, her eyes glistening and said, “Thank you so much for saying that.”

I wonder how many of the people I see every day feel unappreciated.

~ DIANA’S ENORMOUS BOOK OF QUOTES ~

