Tags

, , , ,

I love this blogging thing. It’s a way to express my thoughts, share memories, rant about the things that bother me and use humour to lighten everyday life experiences. I know, I know – you haven’t heard from me in several days. That’s because I’ve been thinking about what I want to do on here. When I first started I had lots of ideas but as my good friend warned me one day not too long ago, the ideas are starting to dry up.

So I’ve decided that I will post once a week in an effort to share things that I can be proud of and hopefully you will enjoy reading.  Having said this, I also want to write about the things that matter to you, so if you have suggestions, please let me know. Here’s my commitment moving forward: To post every Wednesday morning. I am calling this weekly post The Hump Day Chronicles. Clever huh?

So what’s next?

I’ve been thinking a lot about the next generation lately. And I have seen many examples of what they have been saying and doing to affect change in the world and I wonder about our role in supporting them.  Aren’t we, after all, just stewards of this world? What kind of world do we want to pass on to our children? What do they see as the most important issues we are facing today? What keeps them awake at night? I want to give them a voice to speak out. Often we don’t hear what our kids are saying or we dismiss their fears as childish or something they can learn to grow out of. I will never forget the first time I was taken seriously and had the attention of the entire room. It was empowering and beautiful!

 “No one has yet fully realized the wealth of sympathy, kindness and generosity hidden in the soul of a child. ” – Emma Goldman

I want to give tomorrow's leaders a voice

I suspect that if we really listen, children have an insightful and powerful message to share with us. I think we need to hear them, but I need your help for this project. Below are three questions for Kindergarten to grade 12 students. Please pass them on. I have already received some answers – THANK YOU to those who have already responded – but I would like to hear from more youth and get a good mix of ages.

Questions

What do you think is the world’s biggest issue or problem? (Briefly describe it)

What do you think needs to be done to solve this issue/problem?/What are you willing to do?

Do you think it will be solved in your lifetime? Why or why not?

Younger children will need their parent’s help. Please also provide your first name and age and send your responses to me at talktodiana2004@yahoo.ca

Thanks and Happy Hump Day,

Diana

